Lady Gaga “Edge of Glory” and Katy Perry “Last Friday Night” and Julie Feeney’s “Impossibly Beautiful”

I have to admit, I didn’t like “The Edge of Glory” when I first heard it. It’s grown on me, I think I just like singing it more than listening to it, to be honest. I’m already planning on doing an acoustic cover of it.

What’s great about the music video, is that it’s just Lady Gaga, no back-up dancers, no other tricks. Just her make-up and clothes posing on a fire escape. I like the 80s/90s vibes. It reminds me of Janet Jackson in “The Pleasure Principle”. It works and has to be one of my favorite Lady Gaga videos. It feels stripped down and real.

Also, fighting in the next corner in this Pop battle, is Katy Perry’s “Last Friday Night”. A huge nod to the 80s. Kenny G, Hanson, one of the “Corys”, Debbie Gibson and several 80s references bring back this blast from the past. It’s like the movie, “She’s All That” and “Sixteen Candles”. It’s cute, entertaining and Katy Perry is charming.

I mostly just like the music video. I think like the audience for this song are teenagers, but the video can be enjoyed by anyone and should be watched. What’s funny is that in both of these videos, there are saxophone solos. Is the saxophone the new summer sound? Both of these videos have 80s elements, saxophone solos, and that’s where the comparison ends. Lady Gaga’s lyrics are more meaningful and Katy Perry’s is fun and light hearted. Can’t really compare the two videos, but they are both fun to watch.

I also had a chance to interview Julie Feeney, an Irish singer/songwriter/composer. Her album “Pages” just released in the U.S. and she just wrapped up a mini tour in the U.S. She was a pleasure to talk to and my interview with her will be up soon on my music Examiner page.

Check out her creative, “Impossibly Beautiful” music video.

5 Comments

Filed under lady gaga, New Music

5 responses to “Lady Gaga “Edge of Glory” and Katy Perry “Last Friday Night” and Julie Feeney’s “Impossibly Beautiful”

  1. Katy Perry’s video is hilarious! I watched it the other day and loved it!
    I never had heard of Julie Feeney though…She is obviously really talented and I found her crazy hats reminiscent of Lady Gaga and very interesting to see!

  2. Feeney has a great voice, lots of depth. I heard someone at work complaining about the Perry video being (and I’m paraphrasing, here) “just another video that says that if you take off your glasses, put on a skin-tight dress, and happen to look like Katy Perry, you’ll be happy.” I don’t know if I’d go that far, as I mostly thought the video was a fun homage/parody of 80’s stuff. I mean, c’mon, it has a Debbie Gibson cameo!

    • Yeah, the Katy Perry music video is a parody of all those other 80s/90s movies. It is funny to just take off your glasses and wear a mini skirt and you’re hot.

      I think Grease started that trend, when Sandy has to turn into a Greaser to get the guy. You can’t take the Katy Perry video seriously at all.

      I think your co-worker is bitter, haha.

  3. Great post! Did you see Lady Gaga’s performance at the Much Music Video Awards? Apparently she underplayed it a bit – for once!

  4. Ich finde das toll! Endlich mal etwas neues auf dem Musikmarkt, fernab dem typischen Fließband Zeug. Mir ist das auch vor ein paar Wochen aufgefallen, und da habe ich mich erstmal gefragt, ob Lady Gaga und Katy Perry sich wohl abgesprochen haben 😉
    Greets from Germany.

Leave a Reply

