The Girls Just Keep on Rocking: Avril Lavigne, Beyonce, Keri Hilson feat. Nelly

Music videos have obviously upped their visual game. Music videos cater to the internet audience, MTV long gone from premiering new music videos. Vevo has control of music videos releases, audio leaks, and music videos themselves have higher budgets than the past.

Avril Lavigne has been making a slow comeback ever since Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland released. Her latest single, “Smile” is probably one of my favorite Lavigne songs. I was not a fan of hers in the past. But now, I like this happier sound, it’s not so idiotically catchy, it’s light and fun. I also have to say, I think Lavigne is the only person that can pull off green hair.

Beyonce is back with “Run the World (Girls)”. I remember hearing the song on the radio, I sort of liked it, but felt weird about it at the same time. I think this song has its good moments, and moments where it falls flat. As for the music video, I was stunned at the first dancing sequence. I have not seen choreography that made my jaw drop like that in a while. Choreography seems like, “one and two and three and four” to me, because it just seems so emotionless. The dance sequence at “0:52” is just amazing. She’s doing that in HEELS too! That blew me away. The way Beyonce flings her hair and her facial expression at “3:56” is fierce. I saw complaints online that the dancing wasn’t good, the music video sucks, the song sucks. It’s a different song, not for everyone, it’s a stepping/cheer kind of song. I appreciate the message, and honestly, I like it better than “Single Ladies”. I think the ending with all the girls dancing together is chilling.

Keri Hilson has also debuted a visual stunning video, “Lose Control”. She reminds me of Rihanna and Beyonce. The song is good, nothing groundbreaking, but still catchy and has potential to be a hit. I think this is Hilson’s best work as of yet. Nelly is a nice touch in the song. I think my only gripe is I’m kind of tired of hearing songs about “hooking up”. I hear enough of that, tell us something new, ok? The bridge with the piano solo is one of the best parts of the song.

5 Comments

Filed under Music Video Review, New Music

5 responses to “The Girls Just Keep on Rocking: Avril Lavigne, Beyonce, Keri Hilson feat. Nelly

  1. This post has been powered by “Girl Power”, right?

  2. Is it just me, or does Beyonce’s video seem reminiscent of something Michael Jackson would have made in the late 80’s?

  3. ted

    keri hilson the female mj of our time

    • I think you’re sorely mistaken. On what grounds? No one will be like Michael Jackson. Lady Gaga is the closest one in terms of music video artistry, and even then, she doesn’t dance like MJ.

Leave a Reply

