The Girls are in Charge: Nicki Minaj “Super Bass” & JLo’s “I’m Into You”

I’m MIA a lot, I know, excuses. I was in the audience for the Conan show today. It was fun. Anyways, needless to say, sometimes I’m not great with juggling life and keeping up with writing… but I’ll come back.

So, on the back catalogue that I wanted to talk about, was Nicki Minaj’s “Super Bass” which is “super-catchy”. The video is cute… with the pink theme all over the music video. I kind of appreciate the gratuitous male bodies in the music video, because it’s a nice change from seeing naked girls EVERYWHERE. Let’s even up the odds a little bit, eh? It’s not really great to focus on body parts, no matter the gender, but the media is geared for the male eye, from female magazines to fashion runways, so it’s refreshing to have a female perspective.

I especially like the day-glow bridge in the song. I think music videos have already been playing with light and will continue to push visual limits with lights. I also heard a little bit of the remix Minaj has with David Guetta, “Where Dem Girls At”. I don’t like it. Guetta has the same sound for everything now. He used to be my favorite DJ, and I hate to say I think he sold out. Anyways, I am aware of that song, and yeah, I don’t think it’s that special. I am also aware of Lady Gaga’s latest with Judas and Edge of Glory. I really don’t know what I think of those songs just yet, so I’m sure I’ll get back on that topic in another post.

Jennifer Lopez already has a new music video when her song, “On the Floor” is still rotating on the radio. “I’m Into You” Feat. Lil’ Wayne, is a good song. I especially like the breakdown, and it’s such a tease, because that breakdown or sample of a new song coming out sounds better than the song itself.

And by the way, can you believe this woman is in her 40s??? I want that skin cream when I’m that age, I’m just saying…

2 Comments

Filed under Music Video Review, New Music

2 responses to “The Girls are in Charge: Nicki Minaj “Super Bass” & JLo’s “I’m Into You”

  1. Yep, J-LO looks great anyways, but especially for her age!

  2. Interesting outfit on the first girl! Not my cup of tea, but she’s obviously channeling GaGa, so I understand. Great post!

Leave a Reply

