America F*** Yeah! Team America!

In light of recent historical events, there’s only really one song I can post today.

Even though, this song is about national pride, to me, this is an over-exaggerated sense of pride, even a little bit blind. It’s silly, but somewhat right on the mark as well. I don’t think everything America does is perfect, this country is far from perfect. It also feels weird rejoicing over someone’s death, even if that person was bad. I think, what is good about Osama bin Laden’s death, is that the families of 9/11 get closure, and that he will not be harming any more people from now on.

A friend posted this link on my Facebook, and I wanted to share it as well, I think it better sums up what I’m feeling.

‎”I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” –Martin Luther King Jr.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “America F*** Yeah! Team America!

  1. Hi Elena –

    I’ve been avoiding any blog which speaks anything about this subject, since I feel no sense of true happiness because another human being is dead. I know many Americans seem to be joyous about it so I’ve refrained from posting. However, your Mr. Luther quote hits home for me. Hate (revenge) is never an answer for increasing the light, as Mr. King talks about. I like that you added the quote to your blog. Happy Monday evening to you. 🙂

  2. And now I find out that that MLK quote isn’t 100% accurate. Well… in this case, I think it’s the thought that counts. 🙂

  3. Very well-written post about a subject outside your usual comfort zone. I’m actually proud of you!

Leave a Reply

