Miguel – Not Much of an Indie Artist Anymore

I first heard of Miguel when I went to the Viper Room last year to watch BMI’s The Next Fresh Thing, a showcase of new acts. I went to see Krys Ivory, I heard of her from an indie record label internship that I was in when I first moved to LA, and the event was hosted by BMI, so I thought I would go. When I first got into the Viper Room, Miguel was performing. The whole place was packed and he was killing it. I haven’t seen a performer so top notch like that in a while, and still haven’t since. He was dancing, singing on point and had amazing charisma.

After the set, I talked to him for a minute, telling him that he convinced me to be a fan, he was very nice to me. Not only was he a fabulous performer, but a genuinely nice person. I followed his career since, and he has performed at festivals, worked with Usher and continues to get bigger. His single is a slow jam, but live, he is extremely energetic, and is definitely worth seeing live.

This is his single, “All I Want is You”

2 Comments

Filed under Indie Artists, New Music

2 responses to “Miguel – Not Much of an Indie Artist Anymore

  1. He reminds me of P. Diddy, or whatever his name is these days!

  2. Oh, Miguel doesn’t sing until about 30 seconds into the song. The rapper in the beginning is J. Cole.

Leave a Reply

