A Special Blast from the Past Friday: Ace of Base Meets Lady Gaga

All right, readers, I have a special Blast from the Past Friday for you today!

I’ve been wanting to write a post about how Lady Gaga uses references from Ace of Base, so for today’s Blast from the Past Fridays, I’m going to show you some of my favorite Ace of Base songs and show the correlation with Lady Gaga’s music.

I remember falling in love with the Swedish band, Ace of Base back in the 90s on an airplane. I was listening to the airplane radio and I heard “It’s A Beautiful Life” for the first time. I loved the pop, the dance and the synths. I later bought my first Ace of Base album, The Bridge back in 1995. I still whip out that album from time to time. There are a ton of good songs on that album. There’s great song writing. The lyrics are great, very poetic, “your tears are like pearls (Experience Pearls)/you’re as reliable as wave-wet sand (Wave Wet Sand)/when I was your age I was working my ass off, your generation’s soft (Blooming 18)“.

And no, I was never a fan of “The Sign”.

I heard from the grapevine that Lady Gaga was influenced by Ace of Base. It is extremely evident. When I heard “Alejandro” I heard the same exact rhythm/beat from “Blooming 18”. You can also say, “Alejandro” sounds just like, “Don’t Turn Around”.

I love that Lady Gaga is influenced by Ace of Base. In my opinion, Ace of Base was one of the most original pop acts in the 1990s. Their lyrics and song writing still hold up to today. Unfortunately, the synths now sound outdated, but I think a remake of the songs would be brilliant, and in essence, what Lady Gaga has done. She’s taken the upbeat, dance rhythms from Ace of Base and has made it modern. Ace of Base also had very original lyrics, ranging from religion, utopias, coming of age, dating guys that disappear, it goes on.

Ace of Base later came out with Cruel Summer in 1998. That album was good as well, they had an improved pop sound, with some throwbacks to the 50s. Although, The Bridge will be one of the best albums in my pop musical library, and it still inspires me to this day. Not bad for an album 16 years old.

Ace of Base “It’s a Beautiful Life”

Now check out Lady Gaga’s “Alejandro” then listen to “Blooming 18” and “Don’t Turn Around”

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Blast from the Past, lady gaga

4 responses to “A Special Blast from the Past Friday: Ace of Base Meets Lady Gaga

  1. Alejandro sounds a LOT like Ace of Base… I heard they are coming up with a new album, not sure if the line-up of the band is the same though…. ahh…these songs remind me of my college days…. good times.

  2. Very inventive and cool. Well done, young lady.

Leave a Reply

