One of the Most Beautiful Piano Solos “Regret” – Gackt/Malice Mizer

“Regret” is a song that isn’t new, it’s over ten years old. Although, I can’t really categorize it as a “Blast from the Past” because for most Americans, other countries, etc. haven’t heard this song until your privy into J-Pop AKA Japanese pop music. Gackt is a Japanese pop singer and was with the rock band Malice Mizer. Gackt is half Japanese and half French, and he has a one of a kind look.

I heard this song in a very strange way, when I first heard it, it was one of the most beautiful piano solos I have ever heard. It makes you want to cry. I was reminded of the song again recently, and I looked it up, and it still holds it’s own after so long. It’s still one of the most beautiful modern piano pieces I have ever heard.

This YouTube video is set on a Final Fantasy backdrop. I couldn’t really find a better music video, but I think the visuals help convey the song. I’m also attaching a live performance of “Regret” although, I’m not a fan when the drums start kicking in, maybe you’ll like it, but I just like the piano by itself.

2 Comments

Filed under Music I'm Listening To, Music Video Review, New Music

2 responses to “One of the Most Beautiful Piano Solos “Regret” – Gackt/Malice Mizer

  1. That’s a great piece and thanks for reminding me that I really loved Final Fantasy games.

    • Yeah, I’m a huge fan of FFVII. Although, this song just happened to be with a FF game, works out I guess. I don’t think this song was ever associated with Final Fantasy.

Leave a Reply

