Britney Spears – Hold it Against Me Music Video

Britney Spears “Hold it Against Me” music video premiered today on Vevo.

I guess the “Princess of Pop” is back. Yeah, I cringe a little typing that, but I guess I’m falling into the dark side…

I admit, I hated Britney Spears for several good years. I didn’t like how she was acting like a puppet, only after her breakdown and when she sang about being crazy, did I start liking her music. I liked “Circus” and “Womanizer” and I accepted her for who she was. A crazy pop singer. I’m glad she embraces that as well, so I called a truce, and I give her a chance now.

“Hold it Against Me” was garnering some attention with thirteen teaser trailers for the music video leading up to the video being released today. Before the teasers, Vevo released her song as an “audio only” track. I find it fascinating how consumer driven social media has changed the way music is dropped. Before songs would get leaked, shown all over Youbtube before a music video or a song was available to download, and now record labels have embraced that tactic and release their own “audio only” track to be paraded around the net and then release a music video and available download. I think the marketing for this song is notable and will start becoming standard for future big releases.

Now, for the music video, the song, I already liked. It’s a dance song. People complained the lyrics were too simple. It’s not rocket science here, it’s just a danceable pop song, and if you enjoy dancing to pop music, then this song is perfectly acceptable. If you want something meaningful, then don’t listen to Britney Spears, go check out Ingrid Michaelson or Michael Buble or something.

The video has a very technological feel. Several TVs playing Britney Spears music videos. Nice, it shows how long she’s been in the game. She looks good, the outfits are interesting and there’s also quite a plug on Plenty of Fish, which Lady Gaga used in her “Telephone” music video. I wonder if Plenty of Fish is gaining more online daters from these music videos?

Spears also fights against herself (perhaps fighting her “crazy”?) and I like the paint coming out of her fingers and onto the white dress.

It’s different, it’s fun, it’s pop music.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Video Review

Leave a Reply

