Why is Robyn’s “Dancing on my Own” Relevant?

Robyn’s “Dancing on my Own” could have come straight from an John Hughes 80s teen movie.

When I first heard this song, it didn’t make a dent in my day, I just kept moving on to the next song. I wasn’t so thrilled with the song. Back in September, I saw Robyn perform at the MTV VMAs. She had a very short performance, I remember her up on a tier, dancing and singing, and she really stood out from the other artists performing that night. She doesn’t look like a Beyonce, but she had an energy that was all her own and she was enigmatic. I wanted to see her perform longer.

So, I went back to listening to “Dancing on my Own”. I tried listening to other Robyn songs, and they haven’t clicked with me either. Being a single girl, I can definitely relate to this song. I think every girl has had this feeling, where they are wondering why the guy they like, is with some other stupid chick, haha! But seriously, everyone can relate to this feeling. The song is also 80s inspired pop, and having myself been watching a lot of 80s movies lately, this song would work perfectly in Teen Witch, Pretty in Pink, Sixteen Candles, etc. I can see some redheaded angst-ridden teen in a montage to this song.

I also think this song is geared for women, and has an innocent feel to it. It’s refreshing from other love songs and has something different to say. I would like to see Robyn keep pushing forward and hopefully we will hear more from her soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Video Review

Leave a Reply

