Indie Artist Spotlight- L.P.

(A foreword: I had previously written a blog about Rihanna’s latest music video “S&M” and after posting, I took it down. The reason for that was because, it was an unfavorable review of the music video. After posting, I had a sick feeling and realized that I didn’t want this blog to bash other artists. I wanted this blog to be positive and write about music I like not music I don’t like. So, I took it down and vowed to spend time writing about artists that deserve more recognition and not give time to artists that do things just for shock value. Now, back to the review…)

There have been some indie artists that I’ve been wanting to blog about. Before having a blog, I would post up artists I liked on my Facebook, but now I have a place to sufficiently talk about musicians and have the right audience to check them out.

I found L.P., a New York rock singer when I was doing A&R talent scouting for Lyon Echo records. L.P. has had music placed in an MTV show. She hasn’t done much for a while, so I’m not sure if she’s on hiatus or she’s ending her singing career.

Regardless, it’s worth checking out her myspace, and the song I fell in love with was “Cling to Me” http://www.myspace.com/lprock

“Damage is Done” and “Good with You” are available on iTunes. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find a download of “Cling to Me” on iTunes. Maybe it can be found somewhere else.

L.P.’s voice reminds me of a Blondie mixed with a chipmunk. Yes, you have to hear it to believe it. It’s very intense and interesting. “Cling to Me” brought back memories of Evanescence. A strong female voice with a powerful backing.

Check out her music, and let me know what you think!

“Cling to Me”

Leave a comment

Filed under Indie Artists

Leave a Reply

