Tron Legacy Soundtrack Album Review

I eagerly awaited the Tron Legacy Soundtrack. When I first heard Daft Punk would create the soundtrack, I thought it was one of the most brilliant movie soundtrack moves since pairing Marilyn Manson to Resident Evil.

Well, there has been other great soundtracks in the meantime, but the pairing of a band commonly known for dance music for a movie soundtrack, this I couldn’t wait to hear.

From the first track “Overture” we are introduced to the Tron motif which I believe is best composed during the second track, “The Grid” when the synths take over the orchestration and the listener gets to hear what a video-game soundtrack should sound like. I can’t help but feel giddy hearing the 80s sounding synths. It definitely “sounds” like the 80s, but the accompaniment makes the song modern day.

The album continues with short songs, each one with a synth or a percussion element to carry the song. A forewarning about this soundtrack, it can definitely make you feel on edge and nervous. I was mostly listening to this soundtrack in my car and I felt the tension while driving. “The Game Has Changed” definitely has tension and the percussion sounds like a heavy heartbeat.

For those who aren’t too keen on synths, “Outlands” and “Outlands, Pt. II” comes into the mix with violins adding even more tension and drama. “Adagio for Tron” is the only track that has a lone violin playing a mourning reverence melody.

“End of the Line” blends 80s video game sounds into the track. “Derezzed” the first single off of the soundtrack, is the most upbeat song of the album. The synths blend into each other, and my only complaint is that I wish there were even more upbeat songs like “Derezzed”. I’m waiting for a “Derezzed remix for sure.

But wait! The tension isn’t over! “Fall” brings in even more gripping tension with slow-rising synths to really build up the drama. “Solar Sailor” is the calmest track in the album. Slow and melancholy, it really is a beautiful song.

The “Tron Legacy (End Titles)” is another enjoyable track, with the “Overture” motif making an orchestrated comeback.

This album is great for anyone who loves dramatic movie soundtracks, and those who are fans of Daft Punk and dance/trance music. The mixture of orchestrated music with 80s synths isn’t completely foreign terrain, however, Daft Punk has brought the drama, tension and a unique take on the new sound of Tron Legacy.

I can’t wait to hear it in the movies.

The top 5 songs in my opinion:

The Grid, Derezzed, The Game has Changed, Solar Sailor and Tron Legacy (End Titles)

Honorable Mentions:

Outlands, Pt. II, Fall, The Son of Flynn, Rinzler, Adagio for Tron

3 Comments

Filed under Album Reviews

3 responses to “Tron Legacy Soundtrack Album Review

  1. Sum

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂 I’m happy to hear others feel the same way about music. And it’s also cool you have a music blog as well! I really like how you described the Tron soundtrack. I LOVED Tron. I think the Tron soundtrack is some of the best of Daft Punk. Daft Punk is the original and classic electronica sound today. There have been an increasing amount of electronica bands, but no one beats Daft Punk. The appearance Daft Punk made in Tron made me laugh. I really liked the soundtrack and my only complaint is Derezzed is too short! Definitely my favourite track and after that is The Tron Legacy (End Titles).

    • Thanks! I think Daft Punk really stepped up their game with the Tron soundtrack and I can’t wait for them to release a new album. The sound now is several steps up from what they’ve released in the past. I really liked listening to “Flynn Lives” and then “The Tron Legacy (End Titles” one after another. Just gives it more bite. 🙂

  2. Great movie! The music fit the tone of the film perfectly.

Leave a Reply

